About me

get to know me

Intersectional feminist, vegan, nature-lover

Passionate about cacao, and drink daily 100% pure cacao from the farm of my auntie and her husband in Venezuela. They are both doctors and they also conduct research on the health benefits of cacao. 

learning to live

Like so many of us, I have experienced anxiety and depression. I have also had sports injuries leading to insomnia and chronic pain. For many years, I was merely surviving, barely living. 

My life is very different now. Despite all my past injuries, I feel fitter and healthier than ever. However, I had to learn to move, walk, breathe and sleep in new ways. I believe we are interdependent rather than independent beings, I could not have done this journey without several therapists, physiotherapists, a coach, an acupuncturist and yoga teachers.

I worked in the English National Health Service for many years… In 2018 I moved to the Netherlands because of my husband’s job relocation (due to Brexit!). I did a 2-year research master in Leiden (Clinical & Health Psychology) and then COVID happened and I had to rethink everything. When I moved to Den Haag I started going to the wonderful breathing classes of Anne Roffel, and read the book Breath by James Nestor, which changed my life (I am doing a Pranayama & Breathwork teacher training course this autumn, so next year I hope to give breathwork classes!) Moving to the Netherlands changed me in other ways: I became vegan and started to meditate more. I re-discovered the amazing James Reeves from https://www.restfulbeing.com/ whose yoga nidra classes I used to go to in England. I did his yoga nidra teacher training this summer. 

Bachelor of Science (BSc) in Zoology (Imperial College London, 2003–2006).


Acceptance and Commitment Therapy Online Course (Instituto ACT – Psicología clínica y Formación en Terapias Contextuales, 2022)

MSc (Research) Clinical & Health Psychology (Universiteit Leiden, 2018-2020)

Postgraduate Certificate in Evidence-Based Psychological Therapies (University of Reading, 2016)

Graduate Diploma Psychology (Oxford Brookes University, 2009 – 2011)

Master of Arts in Philosophy (Birkbeck, University of London, 2006–2007).

Yoga Nidra Teacher Training (Ekhart Yoga Academy, 2022)

Academic background

MY STUDIES

Irene Lähde BSc (Hons) ARCS MA PGDip PGCert MSc (Research) MBPsS

Professional experience

My journey

I have worked and volunteered in many different services (primary care, tertiary care, charity sector). In total, I have worked with hundreds of clients with different presenting problems. 

 2011-2015: I worked in several hospitals in the English National Health Service (NHS). This included a forensic unit and a speech and language therapy department.

2015-2018: I worked with adults with common mental health problems for the Improving Access to Psychological Therapies Programme (IAPT).

languages

spanish

My mother tongue (my mum is Venezuelan)

finnish

My mother tongue (my dad is Finnish)

english

I studied and worked in England for 15 years

irene-63
irene-54

Get to know me

my values

  • We as human beings are interdependent.
  • We all are capable of changing!
  • There’s no health without mental health.

What matters most are the simple pleasures so abundant that we can all enjoy them... Happiness doesn’t lie in the objects we gather around us. To find it, all we need to do is open our eyes.

the little prince